Posted by: cedarsurf | March 10, 2010

Sawchuk

Terry Sawchuk as he appeared in the March 4, 1966 issue of Life magazine. The scars were exenuated by a make up artist . One wonders why Sawchuk felt he didn’t need a mask. He did begin wearing one in 1962.

Six attackers, frantic to even the score,
the rink tips, bodies piling onto me. Ferguson
hacks my bad elbow, his look says,
Here’s bone for your jar.
Hooks my feet from under me, lands on my legs. I punch
at the back of his head and get this whiff of hair cream.
All of this in silence. Nothing personal,
though there may be memories
“Next Time” by Randall Maggs,
from Night Work: The Sawchuk Poems (Brick Books, 2008)

Leave a Reply

Categories

